Head shaking with runny nose.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Peity, Oct 17, 2013.

1. Peity

Peity New Egg

Oct 16, 2013
    Hi everyone. This is my first post here, so I apologise if I am posting this on the wrong section, or if I'm repeating info already posted here.
    Well I am a newbie to the backyard chicken world! So far we love having our chooks and are enjoying them as pets. We started with three girls about 3 months ago. We got them from a reputable hatchery that has been operating for years and years. They are really healthy chooks and were immunised as chicks. All three of the original girls have started laying. We decided to add two more to our flock as we are a family of 6 and love our eggs, so go through a lot. So we went back to the same hatchery and bought two more, and integrated them into our flock. About two weeks ago I noticed one of the new girls, Gladys, flicking her head around occasionally. I thought she just had an itch or something and didnt think too much of it. I noticed over the week that she kept doing it so I picked her up and gave her a cuddle. I noticed she had a small amount of clear "snot" coming out of her nostrils. She had dirt stuck to it, which drew my attention to it. She looks really healthy otherwise. Her eyes are perfect, feathers are shiny and healthy and she seems happy. I rang the hatchery and they said I needed an antibiotic called Triple-C, which I purchased and have been putting on their water for the past 4 days so far. I think it is Tetracycline from memory. I need to treat for 7 days and then see how they are. Gladys is still flicking her head around and the snot appears to have dried up a lot but something is still irritating her. I googled and am panicked that she has CRD? The other girls are fine and don't seem to be showing any signs. I am really limited in terms of space so quarantining isnt really practical and they have already been together for two weeks, so I'm as