Headbobbing/lethargic Polish Frizzle

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by katmac555, Feb 24, 2014.

1. katmac555

katmac555 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 24, 2014
    Hello all - I am new to this forum, as I am new to chickens! I have had two chickens for a fortnight now; a light Sussex and an Isa Brown, who have settled in happily and are laying prolifically. Yesterday, my husband brought home two new additions; a big Australorp and a lovely Polish Frizzle; whom I have been coveting for years. The australorp immediately became boss after a brief tussle with Isa Brown; but Polish just settled in by my side and had no interest meeting the other girls. I put her on a perch in her coop as she didn't seem strong enough to do much, and she just stayed there. I put her back on the ground a few hours later to eat, but she didn't - her head just kind of flops around, and I thought it was because she may no see so well with her fluffy feathers, but it's like her head is too big for her. This morning, I went to check them and she was in the same spot, head down on the ground and hasn't moved, with blood on her face. I couldn't leave her to get pecked as she's so defenseless; so I popped her in a cat carrier in my bathroom with straw, and a variety of food and water. 9 hours later, she's nibbled a piece of bread and eaten one leaf of spinach, but has not been to the toilet or seem to have drunk anything. I have just now added some scrambled egg, water melon, lettuce, carrot, bread, some oars and sunflowers as well as her standard pellets. She doesn't seem interested in food, and doesn't move, except to bob her head a lot. I wanted to move her back with the others when I could supervise her, but she's obviously not well. Any suggestions? The chicken man I bought her from said she's probably in shock and keep her quiet for a while, and reintroduce when stronger and at night time so there's less chance of a tussle.