Healthy chickens getting sick after leaving the property.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Dewey Green, Feb 2, 2016.

1. Dewey Green

Dewey Green New Egg

Feb 2, 2016
    This is my first post I've been raising chickens for four years and have a wide range of breeds and over 100 birds. Last week I sold 25 Ameraucana's then I got a call that their eyes are swollen shut and they have trouble breathing. The guy thinks I sold him sick chickens but I gust went over every bird and I can find any sickness with my birds. Any ideas why the chickens I sold got sick after leaving my property?

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! Sorry to hear you are having problems with the birds you have sold. This could be respiratory infection that was likely incubating within these birds before you sold them. Only showing itself after they moved which can also cause stress to the birds. Please do drop by the emergencies section for more help on this. Here is the link ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/10/emergencies-diseases-injuries-and-cures

Hope other members there can give you more insight, good luck :frow

3. NickyKnack

NickyKnack Love is Silkie soft!

Hello!
    [​IMG]
    Welcome to BYC and the coop! There's a lot of great peeps here! Feel free to ask lots of questions. But most of all, make yourself at home. I'm so glad you decided to join the BYC family. I look forward to seeing you around BYC. X2 on Yorkshire coop.

4. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Out of the Woods Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

5. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome - sorry that it is not under better circumstances that you are making your first post.