Heard this was the place for crazy chicken people...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Kylo_Hen, Apr 4, 2018.

1. Kylo_Hen

Kylo_Hen In the Brooder

Apr 2, 2018
    New England
    Good Day Chicken Lovers!

I’m new to the chicken world and even newer to the whole country lifestyle. I have been mother henning 10 awesome little ones. As of today, they are about 23 days old. I initially ordered 15, received 16, and 6 have died within the first two days.

(1)Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

As new as they come! I got my first baby chicks a few weeks ago (March 21, 2018). They were 3 days old upon arrival.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

I have 10 HEALTHY pallets in my flock. As of today, they are re about 23 days old. I initially ordered 15, received 16 (apparently I signed up for the bonus chick), 2 were DOA, and the rest were just really weak :(, so I’m left with 10 energetic fluff bottoms.

(3) What breeds do you have?

DOMINQIUES! I’m infatuated with New England, since I just moved here from sunny Southern California, and I wanted to have a homestead full of heritage breeds, specifically ones that are from here. I also find them them to be beautiful! I also have one random little yellow chick, that I have no idea what breed she is. I’m going to have to ask you guys for help on ID’ing her.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

Goodness, there’s no way to avoid BYC.com. Every chicken search on Google usually comes up with answers from this wonderful community. Also, our feed store promotes them.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

I’ve got tons, but I’m going to say that I’m really focused on learning about living a self-sufficient life right now. Hence, why I got the ultimate gateway drug of livestock animals... chickens! Oh, and I love tech. I’m a nerd at heart, and love gadgets and technology.