heat in brooder

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Mommysongbird, Apr 11, 2011.

1. Mommysongbird

Mommysongbird Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2011
    Small Town, Virginia
    I am getting our brooder ready, but the temp is REALLY high, 108* high. The lamp is connected to one corner of a 30 Gal. Rubber Maid Tote box, how can I get the temp down???

2. DanEP

DanEP Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2010
    Cadiz Ky
    Try a smaller watt bulb in your lamp that should cool it down a little.

Dan

3. Mommysongbird

Mar 17, 2011
    Small Town, Virginia
    Quote:This is a red brooder lamp, can't really find anything smaller that is red and especially for the brooder. I am NEW to all of this. What do you suggest??

4. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    If you are not going to reduce the wattage, you will have to raise the light higher. [​IMG]

5. bburn

bburn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2010
    Delaware, Arkansas
    Heck with that....am using a 100 watt bulb and put a thermometer (finally a use for all the thermometers I bought) inside. It was perfect for the distance I had it and sat between 95-100. The chicks will move away as they get too warm.

My small brooder is in the house where the chicks will say for a few days. The big one is in the garage....old truck bed liner that has been fixed to use as a brooder. Used it last year. THEN I put the bigger bulb in and hang it from a tri-pod....can raise it and lower it as needed. Same thing....the chicks move away and get in the area they are the most comfortable.

Try a smaller bulb and a thermometer and see what temps you get.

(the infra red bulb that was in the light will be used in the garage...but in the small brooder temp got up to 128....a little too toasty for babies)

6. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas