Heat in Coops?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by TheDuffields, Feb 3, 2013.

1. TheDuffields

TheDuffields Out Of The Brooder

Feb 2, 2013
    Minnesota
    Hi! I'm new to BYC and a soon to be chicken owner (hopefully this summer/fall).

I live up North in Minnesota where it can get awfully cold....Like this past week it was -15 degrees. Do people generally heat their chicken coops? If so, how do you heat it? It would seem cruel to not heat them in this type of climate and I want my chickens as comfortable as possible without bringing them in the house with me ;)

Thank you!

Leigh

2. Jakoda

Jakoda Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2012
    Old Lyme CT
    Leigh, there are lots of opinions on heating ones coops..I think the majority don't.

I am in CT and I, like you, feel bad when it gets REALLY cold here! My chicks don't seem to mind:) They say, that you don't want a coop really warm as the chickens won't adjust to cold weather which you rather want them to.

One thing to keep notice of is, combs & wattles, if they get black spots/black it could be frostbite. Mine had a couple of areas last week when we were in sub zero weather, so I vaselined up their combs and wattles.

Another thing, if you do decide to heat, be very careful of what you use, heat lamps I would not, to much of a fire risk. I have seen 'boards' that look like cutting boards? that throw out radiant heat , I would t hink they would be much safer...Sweeter heaters is a website to check out.

Next year when I rebuild my barn/shed ,,I am probably going to look for something to keep my inside coop area to around 40 degrees.. IF it gets really cold outside..

There are many here more knowledgeable than I, and if you do a 'search' about heated coops you'll come up with alot of ideas/opinions

3. Hokum Coco

Hokum Coco Overrun With Chickens

Dec 6, 2012
    New Brunswick,Canada
    [​IMG]

Oops! Now $2.50 a doz

First I would like to welcome the Duffields to BYC.