Heat Lamp

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Sassy0876, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Sassy0876

Sassy0876 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 11, 2012
    Southern, Mississippi
    I just got four silkie chicks on monday, they were born on Easter. This is my first time raising chicks. I could not find an actual Heat bulb as Tractor Supply was all out. So I went to Lowes and bought a red light bulb that is for decorative purposes. It is 90 watts and it puts off quite a bit of heat. My chicks are in a plastic sterlite bin with a lid on it and chicken wire at the one end of the lid. I used a thermometer and checked the temp and it was 94.6 under the light. They are very active. Eating and drinking good! I had them eating out of my hand tonight lol. I was just curious how long all of you keep the heat lamps on your chicks. My chicks are in my house in my bathroom which is off my bedroom. There is no window in my bathroom and no drafts of any kind. This is my first time like I said so I am just curious how long you keep it on. I went from a pitch black bedroom to a lovely red glow coming from my bathroom. My bathroom don't have a door on it to block the light lol. Any advice on anything would be great! Let it rip!

2. RonC

RonC Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2012
    D/FW