heated waterer pics?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by ksct, Dec 7, 2009.

1. ksct

ksct Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2009
    upstate, NY
    I know there are many posts on here about heated waterers etc...
    my request is if you could post pics of your store bought (and where you purchased) and home made heated waterers. Along with how well and perhaps why you chose the particular style you did....I have no experience with this and am trying to figure the best way to set up the heated waterers for the chickens. I looked them up and there are so many different kinds out there i'd like to know the pros and cons of them. I thank you all in advance!

2. ging3rhoffman

ging3rhoffman Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2009
    I have a red heat lamp hanging above my waterer right now. I would
    like to know which is the best waterer also.

3. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    Well you could get-
    A thero-cube (thermostat):
    [​IMG]
    And a heated waterer like this:
    [​IMG]

Chris

Last edited: Dec 7, 2009
  4. newchicksnducks

newchicksnducks Chillin' With My Peeps

I think if you have a waterer like Chris09 posted, it already has a thermostat in it to come on at 35* and off at 45* or so. You would not need the thermocube.

5. ksct

Apr 23, 2009
    upstate, NY
    can someone explain the thermo cube?
    sorry and thanks!!!!

6. trilyn

trilyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2009
    East Syracuse
    Quote:It turns off at 45 degrees and turns on at 35, saving you the hassle of turning it on and off and also saves on electricity.

7. ijon1

ijon1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 26, 2009
    gaines, michigan
    Quote:That plastic on that heater is really cheap. I bought one looked at it and sent it back.

8. ksct

Apr 23, 2009
    upstate, NY
    could you use a thermo cube on a heat lamp?
    does anyone else have pics of their heated waterers with pros and cons?

9. briteday

briteday Chillin' With My Peeps