1. littlebowpeeps

littlebowpeeps Out Of The Brooder

Apr 27, 2009
    Oak Harbor WA
    I'm a newbie and getting my coop set up. I have 2 silkies and 3 easter egger chicks about a week old. I haven't seen it mentioned anywhere about heaters in coops. My coop is completely enclosed, with their entry door, no insulation. It snows a couple times in the winter, and remains under 40 degrees for about a month out of the year. How hardy are these chickens? [​IMG] Also, do I need a light in the coop? Besides this, I have found all other answers to my questions only from this site! [​IMG] This is the best source of information, and I love hearing about everyone's little bow peeps!

Also... how do I add pictures to posts?

Thank you!!

2. Tala

Tala Flock Mistress

You said "completely enclosed" --- Do you have vents? If you close the door there still needs to be some ventilation.

eta: to post pictures you need to host them on photobucket or flickr and then you do the Img button at the top of the posting page and put the url for your photo between the {img} {/img} tags

Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
  3. littlebowpeeps

Apr 27, 2009
    Oak Harbor WA
    [​IMG]

Ok I hadn't thought of the vents... I actually hadn't seen anything about this. Can anyone explain a little more? Thanks!!

4. Tala

Tala Flock Mistress

5. littlebowpeeps

Apr 27, 2009
    Oak Harbor WA
    Ok I see. That's simple enough. I'll make sure to include these in the plans.

I see about this being addicting! I can't peel myself away from this unlimited information and help! This is soo great!

6. girlsaint

girlsaint Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2009
    Nova Scotia