heating a brooder

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by trupeach, Mar 11, 2014.

1. trupeach

trupeach Out Of The Brooder

Jan 29, 2013
    I am new to raising chickens and have researched all I could before I decided to take the big step. I built my coop this past weekend and have everything ready for when my chicks arrive, everything except for heat. My nephew died in a fire so iI am nervous about using a heat lamp. I was thinking about putting hand warmers in the broader. You know the packets when opened keep warm for several hours? Has anyone ever used them? Do you think they would work? Thanks

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    You're going to need to provide heat for 4 - 5 weeks 24/7. That's a lot of hand packs. Would you feel more comfortable using a heating pad? There is at least one person using a heating pad, on a continuous setting. But, IMO, after looking at her set up, I'd prefer a heat lamp. There are a number of things you can do to maximize your safety. Be sure it is well secured by 2 different methods, be sure there is nothing that can fall on it, be sure that animals and children can't get near it, be sure it doesn't get dusty, can't get wet... Use the minimum wattage to get the job done.

3. trupeach

trupeach Out Of The Brooder

Jan 29, 2013
    Thank you for your response. What is the minimum wattage? Everything I read was 250. I was thinking about a heating pad but it didn''t seem warm to me once it would be under bedding.

4. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE