1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Heating the hen house in the winter

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by fiddlehawk, Nov 11, 2009.

1. fiddlehawk

fiddlehawk New Egg

Nov 11, 2009
    northern VT
    Hello all - total newbie here. We have just 4 chickens, about 6 months old now (no eggs yet), and I'm starting to wonder about heating our hen house. We live in zone 3/4 and while the late fall has been fairly mild, it is going down to the teens tonight and winter will be with us till late March. I know I need to insulate the water to keep it from freezing but what about a heat lamp for the hen house? If so, how many hours should this be on and can anyone recommend a certain type? The chickens are Buff Orpingtons and supposedly fairly hardy for our climate. I'd greatly appreciate any adivce. Thanks!

2. darkmatter

darkmatter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2009
    Quote:I live in the Midwest and don't heat my Coop, the chickens do fine. I do close the windows, I do have ventilation under the eaves. I use one of those rubber tubs for water which I can knock the ice out of and refill once a day with water if needed. There are pictures of my coop on my BYC page.

3. Chickiemom1012

Chickiemom1012 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2009
    Denmark
    I am not sure what your budget is but I purchased an infared heater from www.sweeterheater.com I am in Green Bay, WI and it get pretty cold here. I also bought a thermostatic outlet to plug the heater into so it maintains 45 degrees. They have several sizes and can be side mounted or hung from the ceiling.