Heating your coop in winter

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by jakell2010, Aug 7, 2011.

1. jakell2010

jakell2010 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 23, 2011
    Hi,,I am very new to this, and have had many questions answered here,,,,first off,,I am in upstate NY, and we can get nights in the neg numbers and Jan thru deb rarely above freezing.

I was looking on the web at Shop the coop dot com, they sell ceramic wall heaters and mats, my coop is 4X6, and one wall heater or even 2 mats would cover the entire coop, they are supposed to be fire. Resistant or proof with limit settings.,,,,,

What should I do some people say just keep the water thawed, some say the birds are better left cold. The cost for 2 heaters and thermostat was like $300, I have $1500 into the setup so far so a little more is no. Issue. I just want what is best

2. BellevueOmlet

BellevueOmlet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    The concern with keeping the coop heated is that the chcikens acclimate and then if the heater goes out, they freeze and die where if they never have heat, they can handle the cold and do fine in the coop with their body heat. Of course it depends on the breed but I would think you would have hardy breeds in upstate.

I would just focus on keeping the water from freezing. If you are using a system with a 5 gallon bucket, they sell heaters that you can put in the water in the center of the bucket.

3. annie3001

annie3001 My Girls

Jun 11, 2009
    Ct.
    hello.
    it gets very cold here in ct. we use a red heat lamp. have for a few years now. when the animals are outside, i do shut it off. its mostly on at night.