HEAVENLY HENS

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by tjhayden1955, Dec 20, 2014.

1. tjhayden1955

tjhayden1955 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 18, 2014
    Hi. I'm new to chicken farming and I have some concerns. First of all I got my chickens as a gift for Mothers Day this year from my family. I got eight chicks. I was afraid that I wouldn't end up with a rooster, well let me tell you, I ended up with 5 hens and 3 roosters.lol Very happy. They have become very large and beautiful and are very healthy. One morning I heard a racket out in the coop and when I went in I found one of my hens on the floor dead. She must have just died because she was still warm and limp. I have no idea what happened. Anyone have any ideas? I also have been getting 8-10 eggs a day until she died. Now I'm lucky of I get 1 a day. Again, any ideas? Before she died the chickens had been out in the yard and I didn't notice anything unusual in behavior.

My second concern is my roosters have black spots on their combs. Is this usual? If not what can I do to take care of that.

Next I live in Michigan. I have insulated the coop but my chicken run is only fenced in around and over the top. Should I make a solid roof over it and wrap the sides with plastic during the winter months (leaving a little of the top of the sides open for ventilation or can I leave it completely unwrapped and still let them out in the snow? Anyone know?

How many nesting boxes should I have in my coop...4 hens?

The coop has a cement slab for flooring, should I use straw or wood shavings...they are in a wood crate in the coop right now with wood shavings for flooring but I'm going to be removing the crate and building a different perch and nesting boxes.

Also, mu roosters seem to be fighting with each other a lot lately. Is this normal?