1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Heirloom vegetables/Vermiculture

Discussion in 'Hobbies' started by country lady, Nov 11, 2008.

1. country lady

country lady Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2008
    NW Tennessee
    Anyone growing heirloom veggies or red wigglers? I just got my wigglers but I have been growing heirloom tomatoes from seed for several years now. They are so delicious. I brought in the green ones and we had one for lunch--so good! I haven't had much luck with eggplant though. I bought seed for an Italian eggplant and it was so good but I gave away too many seeds and then the rest didn't really produce. I have been using wall-o-water tents and row covers which work really well.

2. eggzettera

eggzettera Chillin' With My Peeps

I have posted this before so if you think you seen it before you may have.....

My worm bin is just a rubber maid bin with holes drilled into the sides for ventilation, I just used the largest drill bit I had. Err on the side of too many, the worms if they are happy will not try to escape (they do not like light). If they do try to escape your bin has some kind of problem......

Some people make a worm bin out of 2 – 5 gallon pails that can fit into each other. Drill holes in sides again, so that when they are nested the align up. The top bucket also gets holes drilled into the bottom so the leachate can drain into the bottom one. You still need the lid.