Helllppp!!! Nest / Egg Problem!!

Discussion in 'Geese' started by echix, May 13, 2011.

1. echix

echix Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2007
    TEXAS
    I have a Toulouse that is sitting on 17 eggs. There is a rotten smell coming from under her. She has been sitting for about 17 days now. There were I believe originally 18 eggs and it is a huge straw nest, I noticed some would get "lost" in the beginning when she first started sitting in the hay and I would pull them back into the nest but for the past week or so there have only been 17.

I am new to this and this is my/her first nest. I tried candling and found one clear egg (think my other goose laid it in there). Anyway I read to "smell" the eggs but they all smell kinda rotty but in clandling they all have the air pocket and are pretty much dark and solid from there up.

How do I tell if there is a rotten one in there without disturbing her or removing her?

I thought about getting a warm towel in a box, putting eggs in that for a second, shooing her off and digging through the entire pile looking for that missing egg - is it the one smelling or is it one in her clutch? What if I can't find that missing egg and I just miscounted one day??

How long can she say off the nest while I dig through it without screwing everything up???

It smells like something is DEAD! All the eggs have a funny smell but it might just be because that smell is in my nose from sniffing one - I can't tell one from the other once I get that smell in my nose.

HELP HELP HELP HELP - what do I do? I can get her off for a few, put eggs in warm towel in box and cover while sorting through and cleaning the hay to find what is stinking.

what does a rotten egg look like when candling and can it completely stink up the entire nest like that??? I can smell it across the yard!

Freaking out................. someone with experience please help us!

2. BirdBrain

BirdBrain Prefers Frozen Tail Feathers

May 7, 2007
    Alaska