1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello! Advice needed!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MBPD Chickens, Aug 24, 2016.

1. MBPD Chickens

MBPD Chickens New Egg

Aug 24, 2016
    I thought I would introduce myself, I am Emily and I own 3 hens (Buttercup, Primrose and Daisy) and a rooster called Mario we originally had 4 hens but obviously Marigold turned to Mario :lol:. I need some advice, I'm quite new to chicken keeping, hence why I am here. I don't know how old the chickens are as we rescued them from a farm, so they didn't have the best of lives before we got them, and i really don't know when they are going to start laying! Two of the hens (Buttercup and Primrose) are similar sizes, maybe a slight difference but overall they are quite similar, however the other hen (Daisy) is tiny compared to the others and especially Mario (the rooster) so I know it will be a while before she starts to lay. Are there any signs to tell if they are going to lay soon? Is the fact that I have a rooster delaying them from laying ? Also, in their coop (they only get locked up overnight and let up to free roam a large fenced off paddock) the nest box isn't divided so they all sleep together in there. They have perches but don't seem to use them :/ so will that have anything to do with them not laying either ? I don't know wether they lay overnight or during the day, I've never really seen any of them go into their nest boxes during the day. They are fed layers pellets and have been since I got them. Thankyou !!!!:D

2. limited25

limited25 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2016
    Oklahoma
    [​IMG] Hi, and welcome to BYC.