Hello all

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lindasmith587, Apr 27, 2018.

1. lindasmith587

lindasmith587 In the Brooder

Apr 26, 2018
    Hello all,
    I am here for my cousin actually. She and I are very close. She doesn't like to ask or register in the forums, and that is the reason why I am here.
    My cousin, she was thinking of growing a few chickens, in the backyard... So, I am here to get some ideas on that. Her main focus is the eggs and also she wants to grow some fancy chickens too.
    I don't know how to help her, as I am a more like a gardening person. So, here I am to get some suggestions on how-tos and to know what and where to start.
    Thanks all

2. drauntpam

drauntpam In the Brooder

Apr 26, 2018
    I'm new at this too! Have 9 bitties, supposedly all pullets, and they are 5-6 weeks old. They have outgrown their starter brooder and I just built them a new one, but made it too big to fit through the door of the old chicken coop, go figure! So now I'm at a loss.Need to have them in a larger area but just can't move them yet. Here's a pic of them now. I'm glad your cousin is doing a little more research than I did before starting. I started on a whim! IMG_9432.JPG

3. 007Sean

007Sean Enabler

Oct 25, 2015
    South Central Texas
    Howdy :frow

Welcome to Backyard Chickens.

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years.

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    drauntpam - you are going to need a wire cover over your brooder, those little chicks will be flying to the top soon, if not now. They can fall out and get injured or lost and chilled.

007Sean, Joeschooks and Pork Pie Ken like this.
  5. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years.

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Lindasmith Is your cousin close enough to come and see what you bring up on the computer? Otherwise you will have to read all the materials and convey the info to her.