Hello everybody

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ivynurse2003, Dec 5, 2014.

1. ivynurse2003

ivynurse2003 New Egg

Sep 10, 2014
    I am new to chickens, we had them when I was a little girl but that was some time ago, hahaha. My girls will be 5 months old then end of the month they are gold stars. they have have ate very good up until now. they have not been eating good for the last couple weeks. it has me very concerned. Does it have something to do with the colder weather? I make sure they have ample supply of drinking water at all times, and food at all times. but I have not had to fill up their food every day like usually. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. jeanette

2. Adamschickfarm

Adamschickfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2014
    Oregon
    [​IMG]hello and welcome to are community good luck with your pullets as for the eating problem they might just be foraging more but I don't know for sure hope this helps [​IMG][​IMG]

3. ivynurse2003

ivynurse2003 New Egg

Sep 10, 2014
    thanks

4. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Chicks will slow down on the eating as they age. They needed a lot of food as babies and now that they are getting older, they will need less food and protein. So as long as they are not eating too much while out free ranging, and you are not giving them too many treats, then let them eat as they will. If they are all healthy, active and everything seems normal about them, then they probably are normal.

Good luck with your babies and welcome to our flock!

1 person likes this.
  6. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana