Hello Everyone! My first Winter with Chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by AshMckenzzz, Dec 14, 2016.

1. AshMckenzzz

AshMckenzzz Just Hatched

Dec 14, 2016
    Hello! I am new to the chicken world and to this blog!

I live in Northern California and this will be my first 'winter' with chickens. as you can tell from my quotation, winters are fairly mild here. Heavy rain and occasional cold spells (low 30's at night)

Anything I should be aware of? Change in their diets etc. Look forward to connecting with you all!

We also, as I'm sure most of us experience, had to cull a rooster due to zoning laws. I've searched far and wide for recipes as I would not want him to go in vain! Any suggestions? He was about 18 weeks or so. He was an Americauna so I'm not sure if that makes a big difference.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2016
  2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under AshMckenzzz [​IMG] Welcome!

Living in Aus, I am not going to be much help with regards Winter but I do know there are many threads regarding winterizing your coop. You might be interested in the current Topic of the Week which is Kitting out the Coop for winter: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1144804/topic-of-the-week-kitting-out-the-coop

You also might want to say hello on your local thread: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you ‘Find your State’s thread.

I think there are also a couple of threads pertaining to chicken recipes that you might want to search.

I hope you enjoy BYC. There are lots of friendly and very helpful folks here so not only is it overflowing with useful information it is also a great place to make friends and have some fun. Unlike non chicken loving friends, family and colleagues, BYC’ers never tire of stories or pictures that feature our feathered and non feathered friends [​IMG]

3. N F C

N F C doo be doo be doo Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
  4. drumstick diva