Hello Everyone! Newbie in Michigan

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Raz'sRoost, May 6, 2009.

1. Raz'sRoost

Raz'sRoost Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2009
    Ludington
    Well, always fancied myself a city girl until I found the man of my dreams and married last September. He bought me a house on the outskirt of town that came with 3 undeveloped acres butting up against private land and a creek running the full length of the property....my new wonderland since I am a part-time landscaper!

Unfortunately I developed an allergy to mosquitos last year, and since I hate being inside am determined to take care of the issue naturally...I don't want to use chemicals on my land. So my friend suggested chickens, which my reply was "What!? I don't know the first thing about having chickens!" It was enough to get me thinking though since she has 20 swamy acres and hardly a mosquito to be found....bug control and eggs in one pet?

Since Michigan winters can be long I had plenty of time to research and decided raising chickens is something I can do.....and much to my new hubbie's chagrin, he woke up one morning to 12 new babies in the family:D

It's only been a month...and have since added 2 baby ducks that needed a home.

Right now I have them in the garage, but am anxious to get their coop built so they can be outside....if I could just stop watching them and their antics for hours on end!

I love this site, there is soooooo much information and helpful advice. Glad I found this place!

2. emilyweck

emilyweck Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2009
    Eugene, Oregon
    WELCOME from Oregon. I'm also looking forward to the chickens helping with mosquitos this summer. ALSO, you'll love your ducks.....they LOVE slugs!

3. Highlander

Highlander Tartan Terror

Oct 1, 2008
    Prague
    [​IMG]

4. shelleyb1969

shelleyb1969 Star Bright Farm

[​IMG] from the thumb! [​IMG]

If you're ever coming up my way, give me a shout! [​IMG]

5. daisychick