Hello Everyone!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by OilyChick, May 3, 2016.

1. OilyChick

OilyChick Out Of The Brooder

Apr 26, 2016
    Northeast, Texas
    I'm new to BYC and really looking forward to getting to know some of you veteran chicken farmers. I'm super excited about getting my first batch of chicks in a few weeks! This is a dream come true for me! I have been researching chickens, coops, and everything poultry related for about 5+ years. My Pinterest boards are overflowing with chook stuff!! :)

Because of many other life challenges and just basic busyness the coop was put on hold until now. Now I feel like I can care for chickens properly and give them a nice place to live. And you know how it is...hubby has to "get around to it" ;) . Also, I found out my secret weapon was my granddaughter. She mentioned that there were some very cute little chicks at the local Tractor Supply and that she wished we could have a coop for them...and VOILA! Next time I mentioned building a coop the hubster asked me what kind I wanted!!!

My DH has built the pad and a couple of days ago moved the carport cover into place. We are going to convert it to the coop/storage/covered run for my chickies. I have the plans all drawn up and with MUCH support from many coop ideas I have gleaned here at BYC it is finally starting to materialize!

So thankful to become part of this community! Can't wait to share the loads of photos I'm planning to upload.

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] So glad you finally can get your own flock.

And [​IMG].

It also took me a few years to convince my DH we had to have chickens.

3. OilyChick

Apr 26, 2016
    Northeast, Texas