1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello Everyone ;)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by flower75, Aug 2, 2011.

1. flower75

flower75 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 24, 2011
    Albemarle
    My name is Suzette and I am a very new newbie, lol. I got some chickens last year and they were given to me to eat the ticks, cause I was diagnosed with Lyme and it had spread to spinal meningitis, bells palsy where I lost 100% on the right side and 85% on the left, loss of eye sight and was unable to walk, all within 15 days of being bit. I have completely recovered and it was a miracle. Now I am completely addicted to them and the eggs were a perk with a family of 5, I am now into learning more about the breeds and have pekin ducks too. [​IMG] I have since went from 4 chickens to 17 assorted silkies, barred rocks, white leghorns, and some other bantams. I just ordered 15 more chickens, ameraucana, golden wyandotte, silver wyandotte, 2 cayuga duklings, and 2 khakis campbell ducklings, (chickens are all pullets and ducks are male/female pairs.) woo hoo. Love'em so much! They are caged at night and free ranging on 3 acres during the day. When they are older I want to sell the fertile eggs so any help advice is always welcome. xoxo Happy to have found this forum and look forward to making some really great friends, I am located in N.C. Please Please feel free to contact me anytime. [​IMG]

Sincerely, Suzette
    [email protected]

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] Welcome to BYC from NJ. Glad to hear of your recovery from Lyme disease. I have had it twice and then participated in a vaccine development program. That was worse than having the disease. My reaction to the vaccine was big time!!

3. flower75