Hello from Alaska

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Monkeybean415, Jan 15, 2014.

1. Monkeybean415

Monkeybean415 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2014
    Juneau, AK
    Just introducing myself here. We don't have chickens yet but hope to this coming Spring :)

Eta-. We haven't decided what breeds to get. We won't be getting them until we move so probably late spring/early summer. Any advice? I'm thinking a mixed flock might be nice. They need to be cold hardy and calm (I have young children). Thinking about RIRs, brahmas, Easter eggers... Not sure really. Open to suggestions.

We go through a lot of eggs but dont want to over do it and be overwhelmed with too many chickens to care for. We're thinking around 10- is that a good starting number? We would like at least 3 dozen eggs a week. No coop yet so space isn't an issue. We can build as big as needed. I'd like to have an enclosed run but also yet them free range. I'm just starting out with the research phase so have lots to learn!

Last edited: Jan 15, 2014
  2. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California
  3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Good luck with your new flock and enjoy BYC!

4. broodyhen2

broodyhen2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2014
    Hey guys this is my first post
    I'm going tomorrow to get my six chickens
    I have the coop ready and I'm so excited!!!

5. Monkeybean415

Monkeybean415 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2014
    Juneau, AK

Thank you! I'll check it out. We haven't decided yet. We won't be getting them until we move so probably late spring/early summer. Any advice? I'm thinking a mixed flock might be nice. They need to be cold hardy and calm (I have young children). Thinking about RIRs, brahmas, Easter eggers... Not sure really. Open to suggestions.