Hello from Brookfield, Ohio

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Doodlemom, Feb 5, 2017.

1. Doodlemom

Doodlemom Just Hatched

Feb 5, 2017
    Brookfield, Ohio
    I'm new to chickens but not to the idea of having them. I finally convinced my husband to move back to my home town after living in Green Bay,WI for 24 years since my parents are getting older and it's not fair to make my brother to have to take care of them when there is two of us(I'm the big sister). So June of 2015 we packed up our 7 dogs and everything after my youngest graduated and moved 600 miles to the East and country living on a 28 acre farm that I can still wave to my parents and my brother's family everyday.

Last April I decided I was going to get some chicks after going to a local farm store here. I looked over the types of chicks they had, came home and started researching the different breeds. I settled on the fluffy yellow Buff Orpingtons and so it began. I wanted a breed that if I decided to keep a roosters that they would be friendly and not the Freddy Kreuger type I remember as a child that my Aunt had (he was pure evil and finally end up in a pot). I did a lot of research on sexing by feathers so I could hopefully pick out hens and I must say I impressed myself by picking 5 girls out of 6. Mr. Rooster found another home and the girls are still with us and they are so sweet. Due to how sweet and puppy dog like they are I started with the notion that I wanted to get types of Orpingtons and as I type this there are 3 (2 Jubillees, 1 Lemon Buff) eggs getting ready to hatch today. At 10:52 p.m. the first Jubilee chick pipped it's shell. I'm so excited! This is my first hatch and I plan on hatching many more. JUST IN......the husband has just told me that the hole in the egg has gotten bigger! So I started out with 11 and 8 were not fertile but the wonderful lady where I bought them told me she will replace any unfertilized eggs, so I get to do it all over again.