Hello from Central Florida

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Becky R, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Becky R

Becky R New Egg

Apr 18, 2012
    Hello to all! I am new to raising chickens. I have 3 Silkies and 2 Sultans. I could really use some advice. My oldest Silkie Hen is 1. She has been sitting for about 2 months. She is not sitting on an egg. She comes down to get a bite to eat and drink a couple of times a day. I also take her out of her house when I get home from work. I recently picked up two other Silkie chicks. They are 10 weeks old now. Yesterday, I went to pick one of them up and when I put it down I noticed a slight limp. I did not grab it hard, nor did I drop it. I was concerned and read online that maybe it sprained something while frolicking around with its friend. So at night, I put it to bed and this morning I made sure to place it down. When I arrived home from work today I notice that she is hardly walking at all. I researched online and I think I can rule out brumblefoot. I do not notice anything on either of its feet. As far as I can tell, it is eating and drinking as normal. It's poo seems a little soft. I am confused as to whether I should seperate it from the other 10 week old chick, or if I should continue to leave her in the pen. I could really appreciate any help that may be available.
    Thank you in advance.

2. sukr4chkns

sukr4chkns Out Of The Brooder

Apr 18, 2012
    Becky,

Sorry I don't have any input or advice for you, but want to say welcome! I just joined recently myself and am interested in reading the responses for your question. I hope you are able to get some answers and that your bird feels better soon.

Be well.

sukr4chkns

3. Megaears

Megaears Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2012