Hello from Cereal City/Battle Creek Michigan

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Farmer Dilly, Jun 18, 2010.

1. Farmer Dilly

Farmer Dilly New Egg

Jun 18, 2010
    Battle Creek, MI
    Hello please call me Dilly! My name is Sandy Schafer and my husband, Randy, and I live in Battle Creek, MI. We were trying to attain information as to the possibility of raising chickens for eggs when I found this forum. WOW what great info....Thanks!

We are both self employed, work out of our home. Randy deals with resale on the internet, he has been doing that for over 12 years. I am a glass artist and jewelry designer peddling my beauties on the interent also. We have 3 grown, married children and one adorable grandson. Our current love child is our 2 year old Great Dane Kylee who provides all the loving we can take.

At the beginning of the year we made some changes to our life that led me to checking out raising chickens. We listend to an PBS special on weight loss, I had already lost 60 lbs and was at a plateau, hubby was heavier than he had ever been. So we went organic, threw out everything that didn't fit the program and started down a merry path. Six months later, hubby has lost 50+++ lbs, I have dropped an additional 20 lbs and we are feeling great, heathier than we have ever been. Along this path we have picked up additional new habits. Who knew at 60 I would become a health addict, organic food freak, recycler, etc. We really don't force feed anyone about this we just enjoy feeling wonderful each day!

Here are some of the things that led up to us checking into raising chickens, and helped change the way we do things. You know the old one thing leads to another saying. That is pretty much how we got here!!

1. We grew sprouts that we add into salads, sandwiches, stir frys, etc.