Hello From Chickie Farm

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chickie farm, Mar 9, 2014.

1. chickie farm

chickie farm Out Of The Brooder

Mar 9, 2014
    Good Morning,

I am a newbie to both BYC and chicken farming. I bought 25 chicks at a local Rural king. I had done a ton of reading to see what chickens were best for laying and so many people had so many different varieties of their favorites I decided to get several different varieties to see which ones suited me best. I am in love with all of them so far. They are about a week old. I lost on chick the first day. I should have paid closer attention to the ones the clerk was putting in the boxes because it was obvious she was not well.
    The list of chicks I have are:
    4 australorps
    4 buff orpington
    4 barred rock
    4 rhode island red
    4 wyandotte
    3 ameracunas
    2 black sex link

Im loving every minute of it and spend hours watching them. We made a brooder box and it is in our garage. Their coop is an out building that we are converting that already has power, heat , doors and windows. It needs some repairs which we are doing now.

I am concerned now because one of my chicks has diarrhea and I cant figure out which one. What does this mean? What should I do?

I am so excited to be in your community and look forward to talking with you all. I will post some of my cute chick photos soon.

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Make sure when you are brooding these chicks in the garage that there are no drafts in the brooder. Cold air tends to rush in to meet warm air and this creates a draft which can kill the babies. Temperature fluctuations at night can be deadly. So just be aware of this.