Hello from Christina in New Mexico

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by cutenmchick, Jan 15, 2013.

1. cutenmchick

cutenmchick Out Of The Brooder

Jan 15, 2013
    New Mexico
    (1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    I am not new to chickens, but I am new to this web site. I'm tickled to have found it.

I started to raise chickens after my son took up the poultry project in 4-H. I hate to date myself, but that was about 15 years ago. I found I really liked raising them. I have had chickens in the past. I wash "chickenless" for about 3 years but found that I missed having them. They're fun to watch and kinda soothing to listen to. Last summer I purchased 16 white leghorns.

I found this web-site because my girls need a new coop. One of the web-sites I found mentioned backyard chickens. I'm so glad they did.

I am a mom of two "young people." They don't like me calling them kids...guess I can understand. I live on a farm but work full time. My husband is a politician here on a very local level. We have been married for what seems like 50 years, but when we do the math I think it comes out to 26 or so[​IMG]...sorry, I just crack myself up. On our place there is horses, way too many of them, cows, goats, and a few chickens. Did I mention we have a lot of horses. My hobby is not horses btw.

Now that my children are grown and almost gone I found that I really like having dogs. I am allergic to them, but like them so much I have three. They are Chihuhuas, Spike, he's an old guy, has seizures, then there's Chioco. He's a sweetie. I call him my "special" boy. Don't know why it is but he doesn't pick up any more than "sit." Lastly, there is Blanca. She is very young and fun. She tries to get the boys to play, but they don't usually appreciate her antics. Whenever my husband even thinks about another horse, I start mentioning how I should get another chihuhua...heehee. Works every time.