1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Hello from cold Kansas!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Art_plus_chickens, Feb 7, 2018.

1. Art_plus_chickens

Art_plus_chickens Songster

Feb 7, 2018
    Kansas
    Hi guys!
    Let me introduce myself,
    I'm a newly married (June 2017), new to chickens and new to city life detail artist!

I have always wanted chickens since I was little ( and I really wanted a 6foot tall chicken according to my parents) and despite living in the country for most of my life I wasn't ever allowed to get any as my mum was scared of birds! :hit So on a whim after my husband and I got back from our honeymoon I surprised him with two fluffy chicks! Which lead to two more a month later! I'm still new to chickens, but with years of research and stalking these posts I think I have a fairly good start!

I now have (all Bantams as I've read they are quiter and you can fit more in a small space)- a Partridge Cochin hen, a Lavender Orpington hen and a Golden Sebright hen. And I just recently ordered 8 chicks, six of them died before they arrived a day late (4 EEs and 2 silkies) and then a couple days later I lost another silkie out of the shipment, so that left me with my last very strong sole survivor a Grey Silkie who I believe is going to be a pullet!! I couldn't let her be by herself so I picked up four more chicks from the local feed store that I believe three are Easter Egger pullets and one serama pullet. (I'll post pics on the appropriate thread as I'd love to know if these babies are who I think they are!)