1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Hello from Costa Rica

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TropicalChick, Aug 19, 2018.

1. TropicalChick

TropicalChick In the Brooder

Aug 19, 2018
    Hi! Im new to chicken keeping - 2 years. Right now I have 8 hens. I live in the Central Pacific area of Costa Rica - moved here 4 years ago.

I dont know the breed of my chickens but Im posting because one of my fat happy hens has large dry pieces of skin coming off her back and I cant find any info - see the attached picture...otherwise shes acting totally normal and theres no redness or inflamed area ...

...Ill post pics of my hen in a little bit maybe you guys can help me id the breeds?

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. Chick-N-Fun

Chick-N-Fun Feather & Fur Whisperer Premium Member

Jun 26, 2014
    Upstate NY
    Howdy! :frow Welcome to BYC!
    You are going to learn so much here!!!!
    Your hen obviously has lost a lot of feathers on her back.....do you have a rooster??? If so, ya might want to give her a break and separate the rooster for while.
    As far as her skin, my only thought was sun burn and the dead skin coming off..... not sure if anyone has ever put sunscreen in their hens before.....Anyone???..
    Pictures of your hen and set up would definitely help with more suggestions!!!!

3. TropicalChick

Aug 19, 2018
    Hmmm I will post her pic - i have two hours if work rt now so a lil later but shes fully and lushly feathered! I have no rooster either - I will get back with pocs in 2 hours!

4. Chick-N-Fun

Chick-N-Fun Feather & Fur Whisperer Premium Member

Jun 26, 2014
    Upstate NY
    Hmmmm....in the meantime while waiting for pictures......waffle cut potato chips!!!! :oops::lau

5. rjohns39

rjohns39 Enabler

Aug 20, 2015
    Smith County, TN