Hello from CT!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by andrealeec, Apr 10, 2011.

1. andrealeec

andrealeec Out Of The Brooder

Apr 10, 2011
    Hello everyone!! I am new to chickens, and will be getting my 6 Rhode Island Red's this week. I am so excited! I have prepared the brooder (large rubbermaid container), with newspaper and shavings, have the feeder and waterer, got my medicated chick starter feed, got my heat lamp and 2 infrared heat bulbs, and a thermometer. And 2 books on raising chickens. I am learning more everyday with all the information on this site! One question though (probably of many that I will have as they start to grow)...I could only find pine/spruce/fir mix. Will that be ok for them because I know cedar is a no-no. Thank you in advance!! -Andrea

2. Chickie Mamma

Chickie Mamma Farmer at Heart

Apr 20, 2008
    Sherman, CT
    [​IMG] from CT too! [​IMG]
    I use pine shavings, but don't know about the "mix".. Yes, cedar is a no-no.
    Have fun!

3. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    [​IMG] and [​IMG] from Ohio. So glad you joined. It should be OK, I wouldn't use the newspaper over the litter, instead use paper towels or old bath towel. Newspaper is too slippery and can cause leg issues. [​IMG]

4. Higins00

Higins00 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2008
    Ct
    Welcome! Congrats on being a new chicken Mom. Here is a link to a very helpful and fun chicken meet up group in Ct.

http://www.meetup.com/Chickens1/

Sounds like your all ready. As far as I know your shaving are ok. I buy the big bag at agway for horses.

5. andrealeec

andrealeec Out Of The Brooder

Apr 10, 2011
    Thanks for the info! I was actually going to use the newspaper under the litter so maybe it will be easier to clean up, but i could just do without it. There is still SO MUCH to learn!

6. Higins00

Higins00 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2008
    Ct