Hello from Florida

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by AmandaRow, Dec 6, 2014.

1. AmandaRow

AmandaRow New Egg

Dec 6, 2014
    HI, I am still kinda new to the chicken owning. We have 4 hens that we rescued in May after their owners moved and left them locked in their cage. We went and rescued them. I already had fenced run and a coop and what I consider a coop that also has 8 nesting boxes. I plan on adding 10 more chicks to our group in about 2 to 3 weeks. We will keep the babies in the house for a while. I still have a lot to learn.

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. I'm glad you were able to rescue your neighbor's hens. Be sure when you get ready to introduce the new chicks to the flock to do so very slowly and carefully. There is a good article on introducing new chickens to an existing flock at http://poultrykeeper.com/general-chickens/introducing-new-chickens. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. What kind of chickens did you get from your neighbor, and what kind of chicks do you plan to get?

3. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    [​IMG]
    How great of you to rescue them!

4. AmandaRow

AmandaRow New Egg

Dec 6, 2014
    I know that one of the ones I rescued is a buff brahma. The other 3 I have no idea still. My Buff Brahma is smaller then the others but all 4 are pretty small from what I have been told. I plan on purchasing our new babies from IdealPoultry.com just their standard assortment of pullets. My plan is to get 10 new babies. Thank you so much for the article that was going to be one of my questions was how to introduce them to the group.