Hello from Heber City, Utah!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by unicornmomma, Nov 6, 2016.

1. unicornmomma

unicornmomma Just Hatched

Oct 5, 2016
    Utah
    I have long perused the forums (what a wealth of information!) but only just am getting around to the "new member post" thing.
    I am not entirely new to chickens-- I've cared for a friends while he was out of town, and I cared for a flock during my time working at a ranch, but this is my first time with a flock of my own.
    After purchasing the wrong coop twice, I finally got the perfect one, and it came with five lovely laying hens-- an easter egger, a salmon faverolle, two black sex links, and a rhode island red. Most are molting, so I'm only getting an egg or two a day, but they're sweeties and I love having them around the yard!
    I've also got a bunch of chickies in the brooder- I'm not planning on keeping all of them, but they're so fun right now! I've got two 2 week old black copper marans, and the rest are a month old (barnevelder, golden cuckoo marans, buff brahma, delaware, speckled sussex, and silver laced wyandotte). Aaaand I might be picking up a couple ayam cemani chicks this weekend but DO NOT tell the husband, haha.
    I'm wanting an egg rainbow, since my four year old daughter is so enamored with all the colors and it is one of her responsibilities to help care for them and collect the eggs. Ultimately, we hope to add a blue layer and an olive layer too. :)
    We love critters at our house and have ponies, dogs, a cat, and even some hedgehogs and lesser tenrecs! I love taking photos of my critters, so expect the occasional photo [​IMG]

dump of the birds. Anyhow-- thanks for answering my questions, and contributing to this wonderful resource and community.

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator