Hello from Maine!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Puddleducks, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Puddleducks

Puddleducks Out Of The Brooder

Jan 26, 2012
    My Name is Sarah and I Keep a flock of twelve barnyard mix hens and handsome white rooster. We also keep three geese, two Africans and one Pomeranian. our American buff passed away the day before yesterday :<

I think I joined this site mostly because it would be nice to be able to gush to some other fowl enthusists now and again. Also if any one in my area would be interested in trading fertilized eggs it would make my life! I have a gene line of mixed heritage chickens I've been keeping for about five years now and they are white, gold and brown speckled easter layers. I would really like to introduce new blood and color variations! I like to take note of which traits are sex linked and such. I could look it all up I am sure but it's more fun this way. :) My current rooster is a mysterious white mixed breed that a family member caught because he had gone feral, I would like my next rooster to be an auracana I think. But that's a long way off.

anyway, hello! I like to breed speckled chickens. Lets be friends?

2. jtbrown

jtbrown Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2011
    Southeastern Ohio
    Friends and glad you are here. Sounds like you have some great experience to share. I have been keeping a mixed flock of EE, Brahmas, production and assorted bantum for almost a year, and am hooked. So plenty to gush over chicken things with here. Glad you are here. Welcome to our new and improved site![​IMG]
    ps your speckled flock sounds great, wish I had some fertilized eggs that would help, good luck.

3. m.kitchengirl

m.kitchengirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Maine
    Hi there. I am in Maine, also. Its a great place to raise flocks, more than half our neighbors & folks in the area have chickens.