Hello from Maine!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by peterslovo, Apr 1, 2012.

1. peterslovo

peterslovo New Egg

Mar 13, 2012
    southern Maine
    Hi Folks,

I'm new to chickens and BYC. First off, hello and thanks for this site being out there; such a good resource!

About a month ago, we were going to order some chicks from an online site, but I decided to check craigslist. Sure enough, there was someone nearby who had Golden Comet 2-3 week old pullets, so we went out and visited the birds. We were happy with the owners and the way the birds looked, so got four pullets (named Myrtle, Vera, Betty and Opal [​IMG]). They are about 6 weeks old now, and are 95% feathered out. It's amazing how quickly they have grown!

Anyway, I finished their coop this past weekend finally - wow, that was some work! Currently, I keep the girls in the basement at nights, but they are out in the coop/run all day for the most part. They have an 8x4 run, and 4x4 coop based off the Purina Mills basic design I found on this site, but altered to my liking. The run is detachable so we can move it around the yard as things warm up; once I find the right spot in the yard, I'll probably remove the wheels from the back of the coop and leave it.

So the chickens are getting way too big for their rabbit cage I keep in the basement, but I'm loath to put them out for the night as our temps are still in the upper 20s lower 30s at night. They are fine through the day in the 30s and 40s and thoroughly enjoy themselves, just going into the coop to warm up a bit, then come back out to forage and play.

My (probably way over-asked) question for cold-weather owners is: when can I put them in the coop overnight? I want to do as soon as possible, as I think they are cramped in the basement. In the basement, I have weaned them to cooler tmeps... the temps dip down to ~50 at night in the basement, and they do not use a heat lamp any more.

Thanks all
    Pete