Hello from Mansfield Texas.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Daniel83, Mar 28, 2015.

1. Daniel83

Daniel83 Hatching

Mar 28, 2015
    I am new to chickens and we have 6 straight run chicks. 1 Rhode Island Red 1 Production Red 1 Light Brahma 1 Cinnamon Queen 1 Jersey Giant 1 California White. My coop is built but needs paint, and they are now in a brooder made from an old dishwasher box. Found this site because the chicks seem to be picking on the Light Brahma and pecking at her wing area where the wing is coming from the chickens body. I secluded her with a box taped to the bigger box and put 1/2 hardware cloth in between so they can still communicate and hopefully she can heal up and be ok. Was looking for ways to help keep them from going at her again. The RIR, JG, and CW are 18 days old and LB, CQ, PR are 11 days old.

Edit "add on"
    We are hoping for 3 of them to be girls and have some Pet chickens that we happen to get eggs from.

Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
  2. Daniel83

Daniel83 Hatching

Mar 28, 2015
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 29, 2015
  3. Daniel83

Daniel83 Hatching

Mar 28, 2015
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Oh such a sweet little baby. Hope she heals fast. You've come up with a clever design to keep her in the mix , so to speak. Was just one pecking at her or several?

Maybe once she heals you will have a couple docile chicks, she can hang with.

5. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome