Hello from Michigan

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by fearnowsh, Feb 1, 2016.

1. fearnowsh

fearnowsh Out Of The Brooder

Jan 29, 2016
    Western Central Michigan
    Hi there. I am just starting out. Never had chickens or anything before (except for a pet dog). My husband and I are planning on getting a few ducks (Cayugas and Khaki Campbells) and a pair of geese (toulouse or french toulouse) this year though.
    We are just starting work on the coop! I actually found this site while doing some research on everything ducks and was pleasantly surprised at all of the info available on here!!
    I am also a rather crafty person. I love to sew and crochet and will dabble in a few other crafts as well. Right now it's just me, my husband and Lada-our miniature dachshund (she is an absolute sweetheart!) I currently work full time, and so does my husband, so any tips in particular that people have I would very much welcome!! (especially ways to keep water clean).

2. Adamschickfarm

Adamschickfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2014
    Oregon
    [​IMG] Welcome to the byc flock . my friend has some khaki cambells and they are very nice birds as for your water issue I would get a store bought chick, duckling , etc.. water they sell them in different size from day old to adulthood .

3. Birdrain92

Birdrain92 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 7, 2013
    Idaho
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you joined the flock! I use a water trough for my ducks and I dump it out when it starts getting dirty. Some people install a pond with a filter in it but I don't know how much it costs.

4. NickyKnack

NickyKnack Love is Silkie soft!

Hello!
    [​IMG]
    Welcome to BYC and the coop! There's a lot of great peeps here! Feel free to ask lots of questions. But most of all, make yourself at home. I'm so glad you decided to join the BYC family. I look forward to seeing you around BYC.

5. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012