Hello from Mid Missouri

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Galaxiedriver, Apr 25, 2009.

1. Galaxiedriver

Galaxiedriver Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2009
    Mid Missouri
    So here we are, entering full retirement [​IMG] (I hope) and planning things we want to do. Jan and I have decided that we want to raise our own chickens for eggs and fried chicken etc. We own 13 acres in the country just outside Columbia, Missouri. So far, it remains zoned Agricultural.

I play with my '62 Galaxie and '53 Farmall Super C tractor, I collect records of 50s and 60s music and play a little bass from time to time in smokey old bars. Jan quilts and sews and we both enjoy our grandkids. Every year, we plant a huge garden. I am a Mechanical Engineer and Jan is a Registered Nurse.

I am a Navy Submarine veteran and was raised on a huge dairy farm, Hobbs Dairy, near Pittsburgh, Pa. I was a Milkman during highschool on weekends and holidays when school was out. We had our own bottling plant and several trucks that delivered milk, home made butter, dressed chickens, eggs and cottage cheese. All fresh from our farm and home made. Sadly, those days are long gone.

Jan was raised in Chicago and is an Avid Cub Fan hoping that this year is the "next year" all Cub fans keep waiting for.

On our farm, we had two huge chicken houses and typically had 400 to 600 chickens all the time. Grandad would only have Rhode Island Reds. My brothers and I always had a few Bantys around for fun.