Hello from New Jersey!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by missalis, Apr 25, 2017.

1. missalis

missalis Just Hatched

Apr 25, 2017
    New Jersey
    Hi BYC Folks,

Although I'm new to BYC, I'm not necessarily new to chickens. I started about 2 years ago with a flock of 4 hens- 2 barred rocks and 2 ameraucanas (LOVE their green eggs). I keep them for eggs, but more importantly for gardening company and entertainment! They live in my backyard in a spacious, fully enclosed run directly next to my vegetable garden.

Recently I lost my top hen to the neighbor's bird dog, one of the barred rocks. The dog broke through the fence while my flock was out free-ranging while I was gardening. Although I was right there, there was nothing I could do to stop it. That was my first loss since starting with raising chickens and needless to say I was devastated. Then, just 2 short weeks after that I lost one of my ameraucanas suddenly and without warning. No signs of illness, no injuries, no predator break-ins. I think she may have been egg-bound, but showed no symptoms. This prompted me to get 3 new baby chicks, to keep up my flock and give my other 2 girls some more company.