hello from north Carolina

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by motomom219, Sep 6, 2014.

1. motomom219

motomom219 New Egg

Sep 6, 2014
    Hi, im very new to the chicken world. Ive been a new mom to a cute little chicken family for 2weeks now. One cochin bantam hen, three chicks, and roo. Ive been reading books but still have found very little as to when my hen will start laying eggs again. Her chicks are now 11 weeks and she and they will not leave each other's side. Is she still adjusting? Im not too sure how old she is. Any clue?

2. familyfarm1

familyfarm1 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 9, 2013
    Northern Virginia
    Hello [​IMG]and Welcome to BYC!
    just give her some time she should adjust when shes ready.

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

It takes a while for a hen to get back in the groove to begin laying again. This is all controlled by hormones. And there is no set time that she will start back up. If the chicks are still hanging around mom, you might try separating them from her and this may jump start her into laying. However the chicks will be more vulnerable to the rest of your flock. She may still be protecting them. She should start back up in laying soon I would think.

4. chikkenfriend

chikkenfriend Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2013
    Texas
    My Coop
    Hello and welcome!!

Don't worry about your momma hen. She'll lay again. Ours went broody, raised her babies, and is back to laying regularly. It does take time.

Watch for momma to start weening her babies. She'll start moving off on her own. She'll start eating her freshly caught grasshopper instead of taking it to her babies. You'll see it. Once she starts that, laying comes soon after.

All the best to ya!

5. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio