Hello from Northern Michigan!!! I just added my new chick and coop pictures too!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 1stTimeChikMama, Sep 20, 2012.

1. 1stTimeChikMama

1stTimeChikMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2012
    Interlochen, MI
    I just wanted to introduce myself! I have been reading information on this site for the past few months and it has been WONDERFUL! I am new at all of this even though I grew up with almost every other animal imaginable (horses, trained dogs, took in hurt wildlife, etc)! I also have had parrots and raised a few hundred Gouldian Finches. I currently am owned by 2 children (ages 10 & 8), 6 English Golden Retrievers and 1 monster sized Rottweiler puppy (100+lbs at 10 mo old). I am in Northern lower Michigan and and I am learning everything I can as fast as possible about chickens!

As of this morning I am also now owned by 13 little chicks! I ordered them from Healthychicksandmore.com. They arrived this morning before 7am and I drove a little too fast to the Post office! They are all beautiful and wonderful looking little babies! I am SO very happy right now! They have found their water (I first dipped their beaks in as I set them in) and are eating and drinking like crazy already. I added a pro-biotic and electrolytes to their water to give them a little boost.

I ordered 12 chicks and received 13 (one bonus chick). I have 3 Barred Rock, 4 Buff Orpingtons, 3 Araucanas, and 3 Rhode Island Reds. I read a lot about different types so I thought I would try a few different ones out for myself.

I ordered them all as Day Old Pullets but I will have to wait and see on that!!! My first initial examination of each chick showed feather growth already in the wing feathers except for 2 Buff Orpingtons. I hope that doesn't mean they are boys!!! Time will tell though and I'm sure in the upcoming weeks I will be posting pictures to ask everyone's opinion on what they think they are!