Hello from Nova Scotia, Canada

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by kilo69, Feb 24, 2014.

1. kilo69

kilo69 New Egg

Feb 24, 2014
    Hello,

I finally decided to create an account, I've been using this forum as a great resource for my hobby for a few years now.

While I didn't start out with chickens in mind I have recently added some to my flock.

I started in 2010 with 6 muscovy ducks and 1 drake (Named Quackmire). Since these were for meat production I've had quite a lot of ducklings over the last 4 years and the flock is now up to 14 ducks and sadly a new Drake as Quackmire was found dead just two weeks ago from unknown causes (No signs of illness or injury, just fine in the AM and dead 6 hrs later). His son KD (Keeper Drake) will take his roll as top drake as he is maturing this month which means I have to choose another backup this year.

RIP Quackmire

[​IMG]

I've also added Khaki Campbell ducks for egg production and after unluckily getting 3 males and 2 duck I had to cull a few males to stop the tag team from getting my muscovy's. The did successful get one in and created my mule duck Muskhaki

[​IMG]

The most recent addition to the flock is my incubated group of Chantecler chickens. I've done a few batches of meat kings but they always seemed a bit slow and well dumb. I know they have been bred that way so I wanted to experience a true "chicken". This led me to search out the Chantecler as I like rare breeds and being from Canada this was a perfect choice to continue the only true canadian chicken line. I found a breeder a few hours drive and made the trip up. My first batch hatched 20 days later (Apparently my incubator was a bit hot) with 18 chicks. Sadly the mix was 13 roo's and 5 hen's... I was hoping for a more 50/50 split.
    [​IMG]