Hello from Nova Scotia, Canada

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BrookdaleQuail, Jan 27, 2015.

1. BrookdaleQuail

BrookdaleQuail New Egg

Jan 27, 2015
    Hello All,

We're looking at starting our first flock and we'll be reading as much as possible in advance of the spring to get ourselves ready. The kids (10 and 12) seem very interested right now, and their friends raise chickens. We'll see how that turns out when soccer season starts and they have other interests. For now, its nice to help them dream and encourage them to read (your stuff).

I am interested in raising some chickens (not sure what breed), and either Chukkar or Quail, obviously in separate coops. Thinking a dozen chickens and perhaps the same in quail to start. I am sure your experience and input will be very valuable to us, as we are complete newbs!

There are some chicken, chukkar, and quail farmers around here. Me thinks a visit is upcoming. So far I have enjoyed your coop designs and 'chicken-raining 101.'

regards
    Dan

2. holm25

holm25 Jr Chicken Wrangler

Apr 6, 2014
    MN
    [​IMG]

3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome
    Glad you could join the flock! Hope your new chicken venture goes well for you and your boys. They are great for getting kids out doors and learning about caring for animals. They also make great pets and you can even make lap chickens out of them, many of mine love to come nd have a sit and a chat!

Be sure to ask any questions you may have, everyone here to help. Hope you enjoy BYC I am sure you will :frow

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC![​IMG] I'm glad you joined us.

We'll be happy to answer all your questions! If you're thinking about raising quail, I suggest taking a look at the Quail forum: Quail

5. Book Em Danno25

Book Em Danno25 Overrun With Chickens

[​IMG]

6. BantamLover21