hello from Richmond, CA.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by pikachupacabra, Jul 7, 2010.

1. pikachupacabra

pikachupacabra Out Of The Brooder

Jul 6, 2010
    I'm so glad I get to join your poultry party!

So, now I guess I have to talk a bit about me-which is always a little awkward for me, but here goes;
    I'm currently a graphic design student, and I just moved to Richmond, CA.

I'm not really sure when I decided that I wanted to own chickens, but I have always thought they were fun to watch and interact with.

Anyway, I really had no bird (of any kind) experience, and very little knowledge, but then about 4 weeks ago my boyfriend and I were at the local pet store looking at tropical fish, and they had a whole mess (like 3 dozen or more) of tiny little chicks for $5.00 each...and that is when I decided that I wanted to have chickens of my own...but I was broke that day, we were only window shopping, so I had to go away empty handed.[​IMG]

Then I spent the next week convincing my boyfriend to let me have a chicken, and then his dad said "you can't just get one, get two, so they don't get lonely". And we got back to the pet store in the knick of time as there was only like 5 chicks left.

I picked out 2 without knowing anything at all about what breed they were, what they would look like, where I was gonna put them...(my boyfriend tried to practical, and asked these questions while we standing in front of the cage, and my response was something like "We'll burn that bridge when we get to it. Which chicks do you think we should get"?