1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello from San Diego, California!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by RMDelete, May 17, 2011.

1. RMDelete

RMDelete Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2011
    Escondido
    Hi everyone! I've been checking out this forum on and off for a few years. My name is Laura and I live in San Diego, CA (not very sunny right now... all drizzly)

I grew up in the Imperial Valley near the border of Mexico in a little city called "Calexico" where the temperatures during this time of year range between 76-110 (that's coldest to hotest haha) and our Mother used to buy us baby chicks as pets, we never really got more than 1 female every time we got chickens and we thought it strange, they always ended up being males and we had to give them away. Well I moved to San Diego about nine years ago and have been craving raising chickens.... well we don't live in an area that would permit such a pet, but my Sister does!

We visited our old town Calexico during our father's Memorial day and paid a visit to the old Feed store where we used to buy our pet chickens, this is when I realized the reason why we always had male chickens. We were a pretty poor family so pet chickens were a luxury and I suppose our mother didn't want to dish out the extra $1 to ensure a higher percentage rate of the chick being female hahaha so apparently we used to buy the cheap .80 cent chicks which were all males with an 80% accuracy! Well this time I took home three baby "females" with an 80% accuracy. I picked one and my two Nephews (of 7 & 10 yrs ) picked one themselves [​IMG] because their home has the larger yard I decided it would be fun for them to watch their chickens grow up! While possibly reaping future egg benefits??