Hello from Sonoma/Mendocino (CA) area. Want a FC Maran Roo?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by NYCAChick, Sep 2, 2018.

1. NYCAChick

NYCAChick In the Brooder

Sep 2, 2018
    Cloverdale, CA
    Hi all,

I am new to chickens and since we got 8 chicks on May 12th (less than 4 months ago) its been nothing but chicks chicks chicks around here. Hard to get anything else done, but they are delightful.

Unfortunately, I am also discovering that teenagers are difficult. Especially teenage boys, yes? We ended up with 4 cockerels and 4 pullets (as happens) but one cockerel disappeared while free ranging (Lesson One, hard learned, but at least it was one of the cockerels).

And, yes, I know... I have 3 left, and having too many boys is something I need to deal with. But now they're "pets"... and I'm a vegetarian, so it's hard. Part of why I joined BackyardChickens...

I have:
    2 French Copper Marans (cockerels, gorgeous and friendly! want one?)
    1 Golden Laced Orpington
    1 Heritage Welsummer
    3 Sage Eggers (1 is a cockerel, super beautiful. Also looking for a good home)

I got them all from Alchemist Farms, a fantastic heirloom breeder in Sebastopol, CA who breeds for temperament as well as egg color. I chose them because I fell in love with the dark chocolate colored Marans eggs, but unfortunately, both my Marans are boys, so I am looking for another 6 pullets (Marans and Welsummer) to balance out the flock. (Know of anyone who has pullets available, nowish?)