Hello from Southern California

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by deborahca, Dec 27, 2013.

1. deborahca

deborahca Out Of The Brooder

I thought I would briefly introduce myself before I start diving into the main forum. I have been wanting to get into backyard chicken keeping for a while, and I've received a chicken coop for Christmas so I'm getting serious about getting started this Spring. I'm completely new to chickens, although not to birds, having three parrots sharing my office space! I've also taken care of horses, and I'm assuming that mucking out chickens will be a bit less demanding than that!

I have lots to do to read up on the FAQs. I also have a couple of books on chicken-keeping and some friends who have backyard poultry. My main interest is egg-laying and having them as outdoor pets, really, although I don't want to get TOO attached until I'm pretty sure I can keep them safe! We live in the high desert of Southern California and while our caliche ground is quite possibly hard enough to discourage burrowing predators (we had some planting done and they used a jackhammer to prepare the hole) we have plenty of hawks. We have wild quail that visit regularly and have seen hawks take the quail. We even had a golden eagle in the backyard once. So I'm not planning to let them free-range, although I do have a run that is fairly mobile and plan to let them be out in the run in different parts of the yard, and possibly have free run closely supervised on occasion, if they are tame enough to keep close by. The coop itself, which has a screened run underneath it, will probably need to be staked into the ground because we occasionally get very high wind and I would not want the hens to blow away coop and all.