Hello from Texas! New chicken mom here :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jhoffLVT, Jan 2, 2015.

1. jhoffLVT

jhoffLVT Out Of The Brooder

Dec 30, 2014
    Magnolia, TX
    Good morning everyone!

This is my first time raising hens, as I have had broilers for show, and apparently there is a huge difference in raising the two. Raising a large number of broilers at a time for meat & sale is a different process & feeding.

We just have a small starter coop for now, says it will house 3-4 hens but obviously will only house two comfortably and we're OK with that! I just have a few questions, since I have read so much contradicting stuff on the internet. The hens will be cooped at night, with an attached secure run on bad weather days. However, most days will be free range from 1p-dark and of course on the weekends.

1) Probiotics, yay or nay? Type and how often?

2) Grit? I have seen this mentioned once somewhere but that was it so I wasn't sure if this was something I need to incorporate into their diet especially since they will be free range?

3) Deworming, I've read pros and cons & being in this field, I'm aware of what type of parasites these guys can carry... I've read a lot on Wazine dewormer, but some sites say that if I use probiotics then I don't need to use a dewormer? I don't understand how probiotics can deworm anything, if that were the case people wouldn't treat their dogs and cats for intestinal parasites?? So things just aren't adding up about that...

4) Type of feed I would like to stay away from Purina, as I know there are better quality feeds available. Are there recommendations for a more organic, non-GMO type feed??

Since we are just getting two hens (for now!) I don't need anything in large scale, but do want to start these girls off on the right foot for egg production for my family.

Thank you all for your help! I've been stalking this website for a few weeks trying to learn as much as I can!

Last edited: Jan 2, 2015