1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello from Texas!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by cjnason74, Oct 3, 2015.

1. cjnason74

cjnason74 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 30, 2015
    Springtown, TX
    My Coop
    Hi everyone! I'm actually brand new to chickens, so forgive me. :) We recently purchased a house which came with a coop already on it, and I tossed around the idea back and forth about getting chickens, and then finally after a month in the house decided that I'd rather get rid of the coop because I was scared due to knowing zero about them. I tried to offer the coop to several people, for free, and everyone kept saying "You should just get chickens, they're cute/easy/fun/free eggs, etc". Then finally I just gave up, and went for it. We purchased four pullets, five small who-knows-what bantam cochins, and three guineas to protect them from snakes. And now I'm up to my eyeballs in chicken forums, chicken books, chicken pictures! UGH! Not one person warned me that they were so darn addicting! LOL