1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello from the Isle of Man!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Hazie, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Hazie

Hazie New Egg

Mar 5, 2013
    Hey guys, I am fairly new to backyard chickens; last year I inherited one typical brown (red) hen from a neighbour who moved but couldn't take her, then 3 months ago got 2 two-month old bantams to keep her company. Sadly my brown hen (named Mrs Chicken) died a few weeks ago so we were left with the 2 bantams! They're a bit wild (Mrs Chicken was VERY friendly) but have just started laying, yay!

I'm from the Isle of Mann, which is between Ireland & the UK, I gather most of you are in America?

Anyway, just saying Hi really! I initially joined because i could have SWORN one of my bantams was male but when they started laying, there were 2 eggs, and I was so convinced, I was gonna ask about the likelihood of one laying 2 eggs per day! But happily I know they're both girls now :)